School project S4 – Experimental typography

For this project we had to experiment with typography. We picked a word out of a hat, and had to think about how to develop an idea around that word. I picked the word shadow which gave me several ideas. Shadow is associated with light, dark, ghost, evil … and FEAR to name a few. Fear is the theme I decided to explore. My idea was to use a light projection to create a word in shadows and take a picture of it.  For some reason, war and prison came up to mind. A symbol that Identify both is barb wire, one to keep the enemy out, the other for keeping the prisoners in. In both cases Fear is a factor: fear of war or death, fear of being incarcerated or caught, fear of the dark. So I decided to craft the letter out of metal wires and even do my own barb wire (see below). The two word Fear and Peur (fear in french) were created perpendicular from each other with one long single wire. I hung the word to the ceiling and projected beams of light at a 90 degrees angle to reveal the words in shadows. My first impression while taking the pictures was the fear of a escaping prisoner surrounded by searchlights and barb wire. But sometimes, even if you have a great idea, the execution and  result don’t come out as you intended as is the case here. Maybe with different lighting and a professional photographer, this piece could have been good. I decided to post those pictures anyway,… not for the final result but for the ideas behind it.

My second idea (plan B) was fear of the simplest form: Fear of the Dark… fear of death. I simply crafted letter in foamcore and use a beam of light to project the word fear in shadows. I added a skeleton hand for more creepiness as if death was waiting in the shadows. My three best angles are shown below. I think my plan B came out way better than the first one.

What is cool about experimental typography is that it make you take a step back and find other way than a computer to communicate with typography.

fear shadow

fear setup

fear setup2

fearv21fearv22

fearv23

 copyright 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

